If I Stay, Review – Resta Anche Domani, Review

Resta_Anche_Domani_Poster_Italia_01_mid

Mia is a cello player who always dreamed about getting into Juilliard (what a news, never seen something like that in a movie before). Her family supports her in pursuing her dreams and reach what her heart wishes, so does her boyfriend Adam. He is the first love, the one that you would never let go (no, wait, I let my first love go and I couldn’t be happier… I guess I’m an exception), but when Mia auditions for the school she dreamed of, things between them get tough. He is scared she would go to New York to study and the distance would just end the relationship. Mia battles with herself on whether stay or go, that’s the hardest decision she’s ever been in the position to make. But everything changes when her and her family, get in a car crush. They all die, but she is in a coma for one day. Her spirit (every reference to Ghost it’s a coincidence) roams around for the entire day watching her friends and relatives crying in the hospital. At this point, Mia finds out that the hardest choice if whether stay or go, is this one, if survive, achieve her dreams, even if she doesn’t have her parents and little brother anymore or go. Live or die. Her spirit hears Adam saying he would move with her to New York City if she stays and so she finds in her love with him the reason to live. Now, people who know me, can confirm that these kind of tragedies, dramas, over sensitive touching stories, are just my thing, I love them! But, honestly, this one here didn’t captivate me that much. I feel like it’s something seen so many times the difference is that If I Stay is way more exasperated and predictable than the others. I mean… it didn’t even made me cry which is just the weirdest thing because I cry for every single movie. The acting wasn’t even that great. I’m sure a lot of people would like it but for me it’s just… NO! I dig some of the songs tho 😉

(cast: Chloë Grace Moretz, Mireille Enos, Liana Liberato, Lauren Lee Smith, Jamie Blackley, Stacy Keach, Aisha Hinds, Joshua Leonard, Chelah Horsdal,Jakob Davies, Gabrielle Rose)


Mia è una violoncellista che sogna di entrare alla Juilliard (ma che novità, mai vista una cosa del genere in un film). La sua famiglia la sostiene e la incoraggia a perseguire i suoi sogni, così come il suo ragazzo, Adam. E’ il primo amore, quello che nessuno vorrebbe mai lasciare andare (no, un momento, io ho lasciato andare il mio primo amore e non potrei esserne più felice… suppongo di essere l’eccezione), ma quando Mia fa l’audizione per la scuola dei suoi sogni, le cose tra i due si complicano. Lui teme che lei, trasferendosi a New York possa frapporre tra di loro una distanza che porterebbe alla fine della storia. Mia combatte con se stessa, non sa se restare o andare, è la decisione più difficile della sua vita. Ma tutto cambia quando la ragazza, insieme alla famiglia, si ritrova coinvolta in un incidente d’auto. I suoi genitori ed il fratellino perdono la vita, ma lei si ritrova in una sorta di coma per un giorno intero. Il suo spirito (ogni riferimento a Ghost è puramente casuale) vaga per tutta la giornata ed osserva amici e parenti che si disperano in ospedale. A questo punto, Mia scopre che la scelta più difficile della sua vita, se andare o restare, è ora, se sopravvivere, realizzare i suoi sogni anche se non ha più i genitori ed il fratello, oppure andare. Vivere o morire. Il suo fantasma sente Adam confessarle che è disposto a trasferirsi a New York con lei a patto che resti quindi Mia trova nel loro amore la ragione per sopravvivere. Ora, chi mi conosce può confermare che questo genere di tragedie, drammi, ipersensibili e toccanti storie, sono roba mia. Le adoro! Ma, onestamente, questa non è stata in grado di catturarmi. Mi sembra una cosa vista e rivista con la differenza che Resta Anche Domani è più esasperata e prevedibile delle altre. Cioè… non mi ha neanche fatto piangere e questo la dice lunga dal momento che io piango per tutti i film. L’interpretazione dell’intero cast non è niente di eccezionale. Sono sicura che piacerà a tante persone ma per me è semplicemente…. NO! Mi sono piaciute alcune canzoni però 😉

B.

 

Leave a Reply

